Language Selection

English French German Italian Portuguese Spanish

Total lunar eclipse set to turn Moon red

Filed under
Sci/Tech

Early Tuesday morning, August 28, 2007, a colorful lunar eclipse will be visible from Australia, parts of Asia, Japan, and most of the Americas. In the United States, the western part of the country will be favored with the best conditions.

The lunar eclipse begins at 12:54 PDT (Pacific Daylight Time) when the Moon begins to enter the Earth’s shadow. About two hours later, the color of the Moon will change from its normal grayish color to a reddish color.

The red color comes about because light from the Sun as it reaches the Earth must pass through the dense atmosphere of Earth before reaching the Moon. The scattering of this sunlight produces the red coloring.

Thus, at about 2:52 PDT the start of the total lunar eclipse begins.

On the east coast, the begin of the total lunar eclipse is 5:52 am EDT, in the central part of the country its 4:52 am CDT, in the mountain time region it is 3:52 am MDT, in Alaska its 1:52 am, and in Hawaii its 11:52 am (August 27).

The total lunar eclipse will last about 90 minutes.

More Here




More in Tux Machines

Native Netflix, Ts'o on Systemd, and Fedora 21 Alpha a Go

In today's Linux news OMG!Ubuntu! is reporting that Netflix is coming to Linux, this time natively. Jack Germain reviews Opera 12.16. Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols talks to Theodore Ts'o about systemd. A preview of new Kmail show radical redesign. And finally today, Fedora 21 Alpha was approved for release! Read more

Ubuntu gets closer to debut in Meizu MX4 phone

The Ubuntu project announced a stable build for Ubuntu Touch phones, a week after Meizu tipped an Ubuntu version of the Meizu MX4 phone due in December. The Ubuntu for Phones team at the Canonical’s Ubuntu Project announced the arrival of the first image from the Ubuntu-rtm (release to manufacturing) distribution for phones. The announcement followed last week’s tease from Meizu, saying a version of the Android-based Meizu MX4 was on schedule for shipping with Ubuntu in December. Read more

Android L Will Keep Your Secrets Safer

Hard on the heels of increased security measures in Apple's newly released iOS 8, Google this week confirmed that encryption will be turned on by default in the next release of Android. Android has offered encryption for more than three years, and keys are not stored off the device, so they can't be shared with law enforcement, Google said. In the next Android release, encryption will be enabled by default. Read more

WHAT THE GNOME RELEASE TEAM IS DOING

At the release team BoF at this years Guadec, I said I would write a blog post about the whats and hows and ifs of release team work. I’m a little late with this, but here it is: a glimpse into the life of a GNOME release team member. We are in the end phase of the development cycle, when the release team work is really kicking into high gear. Read more